• Post category:Plugins

Published on January 31, 2020, my first plugin on the WordPress repository aims to improve the editing experience under Gutenberg.

See the plugin at the bottom of the page.

Modern editor

WordPress has since version 5.0 integrated a new content editor. This new Gutenberg editor (in reference to the larger WordPress evolution project named Gutenberg) is characterized by a content edition articulated by blocks. I would not go back here on this new approach but my plugin aims to help contributors to use Gutenberg more easily.

WYSIWYG

Gutenberg has the quality of reducing the difference between the appearance of content on the back office and front office. In other words, with Gutenberg, unlike the classic editor, you have the possibility of obtaining WYSIWYG.

Problem

However, leaving the focus on formatting, the editor tends to fade. It is erased to enhance the final result but it is sometimes difficult to simply find a block to be able to modify or select it because its location is not clearly visible. This side effect is ultimately quite logical. When looking for a visual result close to the front-office result, we are no longer interested in the structural appearance of our layout. We do not want to see the blocks but rather visualize the simple end result.

Inspiration

On closer examination, this problem is not an isolated case. Preparing a layout while viewing the final result is the hallmark of any layout software.

InDesign, for example, has been responding to this problem for a long time. It has several modes including a normal mode and an preview mode. Normal mode is therefore the classic working mode where you visualize all the elements (blocks) of your composition with their selection outlines, their various handles, etc. and the preview mode removes all these technical assistance intended for the layout work and presents your work to you as it will be printed. So you can work properly and you can also see the result at your convenience.

Plugin

This plugin therefore makes it possible to highlight your blocks present in your content by marking their outlines with a colored border. Activated by keyboard shortcut, you can easily switch from one mode to another to view your blocks and then return to the overview of your usual page.

Without configuration, once activated, this plugin is immediately usable. Finally, if you like it, don’t hesitate to say it out loud.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu

• Post Category:Extensions

Mis en ligne le 31 janvier 2020, cette première extension sur le répertoire officiel de WordPress a pour but d’améliorer l’expérience d’édition sous Gutenberg.

Voir l’extension en bas de page.

L’éditeur moderne

WordPress a depuis la version 5.0 intégré un nouvel éditeur de contenu. Ce nouvel éditeur Gutenberg (en référence au projet d’évolution de WordPress plus vaste nommé Gutenberg) se caractérise par une édition de contenu articulée par des blocs. Je ne reviendrais pas ici sur cette nouvelle approche mais mon extension a pour but d’aider les contributeurs à utiliser plus facilement Gutenberg.

WYSIWYG

Gutenberg a comme qualité de réduire la différence entre l’apparence du contenu côté back-office et côté front-office. C’est à dire, qu’avec Gutenberg, contrairement à l’éditeur classique, vous avez la possibilité d’obtenir du WYSIWYG.

Le problème

Hors, en laissant la part belle à la mise en forme, l’éditeur a tendance a s’effacer. Il s’efface pour valoriser le résultat final mais il est parfois difficile de trouver tout simplement un bloc pour pouvoir le modifier ou le sélectionner car son emplacement n’est pas clairement visible. Cet effet de bord est finalement assez logique. En recherchant un résultat visuel proche du résultat final front-office, l’apparence structurelle de notre mise en page ne nous intéresse plus. Nous ne souhaitons pas voir les blocs mais plutôt visualiser le simple résultat final.

L’inspiration

À mieux y regarder, ce problème n’est pas un cas isolé. Préparer une mise en page tout en visualisant le résultat final est le propre de tout logiciel de mise en page.

InDesign par exemple répond à cette problématique depuis longtemps. Il dispose de plusieurs modes parmi lesquels un mode normal et un mode aperçu. Le mode normal est donc le mode de travail classique où vous visualisez tous les éléments (blocs) de votre composition avec leurs contours de sélection, leurs poignées diverses, etc. et le mode aperçu retire toutes ces assistances techniques destinées au travail de mise en page et vous présente votre travail tel qu’il sera imprimé. Ainsi, vous pouvez travailler correctement et vous avez aussi la possibilité de voir le résultat à votre convenance.

L’extension

Cette extension permet donc de mettre en lumière vos blocs présents dans votre contenu en marquant leurs contours par une bordure colorée. Activable par raccourci clavier, vous pouvez facilement basculer d’un mode à l’autre pour visualiser vos blocs et revenir ensuite à l’aperçu de votre page habituel.

Sans configuration, une fois activée, cette extension est immédiatement utilisable. Enfin, si vous l’appréciez, n’hésitez pas à le dire tout haut.

Laisser un commentaire

Fermer le menu